About
The Ninth Circuit hears appeals from the U.S. District Courts in nine Western states, including Washington.
Free Online Sources
- 9th Circuit Court of the U.S. Court of Appeals [Internet Archive]Contains scanned images of briefs held by the University of California, Hastings College of Law Library. Covers 1892 through the 1960s.
- Cases of Interest [U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit]Provides instructions on how to register for PACER to receive notices about cases of interest and then use the 9th Circuit site to download opinions.
Online Commercial Sources
Access to Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, and WestlawNext is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Washington School of Law and to other people who have individual passwords and IDs.
- Dockets [Bloomberg Law]Contains case dockets and e-filed documents in most federal and state courts. Search for a docket for a specific case. For the Ninth Circuit, covers Jan. 2009 to present. Other coverage dates vary.
- U.S. Courts of Appeals Briefs [Lexis]Contains selected briefs in cases before all of the Courts of Appeals. To limit to briefs from the Ninth Circuit use the "Court" filter on on the left side of the page. As of Dec. 2015, the Ninth Circuit had the second largest collection of briefs in this database.
- U.S. Courts of Appeals Briefs [Westlaw]Contains briefs for the numbered Circuit Courts of Appeal and for the D.C. Circuit, the Federal Circuit, and the Armed Forces Court of Appeals. Covers 1972 to present.
In the Gallagher Law Library
In the Law Library, briefs submitted to the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals are available in paper and microfiche. Both collections are organized by docket number.
| Years | Docket Nos. | Format | Location |
| 1892 - 2008 |
1892-30 to 09-71532 |
paper | Compact Stacks |
| 1985 - 2004 | 85-1041 to 08-99006 | fiche | KF112 / Reference Area |
Since the Court began requiring e-filing in Jan. 2009, it suspended distribution of print briefs. Thus the Library's collection ends in 2009. Use one of the online sources mentioned above.