About
The Washington Court of Appeals was created in 1969. RCW 2.06
There are three divisions:
- Division I, sitting in Seattle
- Division II, sitting in Tacoma
- Division III, sitting in Spokane
Free Online Sources
- Court of Appeals Division I - Briefs [Washington Courts]Contains briefs filed in cases before Division I of the Washington Court of Appeals. Covers June 2009 to present.
- Court of Appeals Division II - Briefs [Washington Courts]Contains briefs filed in cases before Division II of the Washington Court of Appeals. Covers June 2006 to present.
- Court of Appeals Division III - Briefs [Washington Courts]Contains briefs filed in cases before Division III of the Washington Court of Appeals. Covers Aug. 2010 to present.
Online Commercial Sources
- Washington Court Briefs [Lexis]Contains briefs from cases filed with the Washington Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, and superior courts. Covers 2000 to present.
- Washington Court Briefs [Westlaw]Contains briefs filed in cases before the Washington Supreme Court and the Courts of Appeals. Covers 2002 to present (includes some earlier documents).
In the Gallagher Law Library
The Law Library has print and microfiche collections of briefs submitted to the Court since its inception.
Docket numbers are assigned by the Court when a case is filed. A case's docket number is shown on the first page of the written opinion. "Wn.App." represents the Washington Appellate Reports citation. Briefs from unpublished cases are omitted from the microfiche collection (that is, cases beginning at page 1001).
| Years | Division | Docket Nos. | Format | Location | Arrangement | |
| 1969 - 1990; 2002 - 2009 | I | 5 to 22386; 43963 to 65463 | paper | Compact Stacks | docket no. | |
| 1969 - 1990; 2002 - 2009 | II | 1 to 12378; 22904 to 40950-0 | paper | Compact Stacks | docket no. | |
| 1969 - 1990; 2002 - 2009 | III | 1 to 9336; 18812 to 28243 | paper | Compact Stacks | docket no. | |
| Years | Citations | |||||
| 1988 - 2005 | 52 Wn.App. to 125 Wn.App. 938 |
fiche | KFW48 .A5W3m Reference Area |
|
||
Other places to find Washington Court of Appeals Briefs
- Washington Courts
- Washington State Archives (limited)
- Contact the Clerk's Office
- Washington State Law Library
- Contact the lawyer who wrote the brief