Website: Court Briefs & Oral Arguments: Other U.S. & State Courts Briefs

About

Briefs submitted to other federal and state appellate courts are available on commercial sources and at free websites. This part of the guide identifies some of those sources.

Free Online Sources - Federal Courts

Check court websites. Some (especially courts of appeals) post briefs.

Internet Archive - Briefs
The Internet Archive has thousands of briefs from different jurisdictions.
RECAP from CourtListener
A free Firefox and Chrome extension that automatically adds PACER filings downloaded by someone with the extension into the Court Listener public archive. The RECAP archive is searchable and can be filtered by jurisdiction.

Free Online Sources - State Courts

Many briefs may be found on the Internet. Use a general search engine (like Bing or Google). Search the names of the parties, the name of the court, the docket number, and/or other keywords associated with the case or the party filing the brief. For examples of state court briefs that are available on the Internet, see the following sites.

Surpeme Court of California Resources [Stanford Law Library & Justia]
"SCOCAL is a joint project between Justia and Stanford Law School Library. With annotations written by the Advanced Legal Research class at Stanford Law School, SCOCAL is where readers can locate free opinions from 1934 to the present, annotations, briefs, documents and news relating to California Supreme Court opinions."
Thousands of cases, 1934-2019. Selected cases include annotations and list briefs, sometimes with links. See, e.g., Straus v. Horton.
Florida Supreme Court Briefs and Opinions, and Oral Arguments [Florida State University College of Law]
Contains slip opinions, petitions and briefs, and video of selected oral arguments before the Florida Supreme Court. Covers mid-1960s to present.
Kentucky Appellate Court Briefs [Northern Kentucky University, Chase College of Law LIbrary]
Contains briefs in cases before the Kentucky Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. Covers Jan. 1999 to present (Supreme Court) and Oct. 2005 to present (Kentucky Court of Appeals).
Michigan Supreme Court Briefs [Michigan Courts]
Contains briefs filed in cases before the Michigan Supreme Court. Arranged by docket number. Covers 2007 to present.
New Hampshire Supreme Court eBriefs [New Hampshire Judicial Branch]
Contains briefs e-filed with the New Hampshire Supreme Court. Arranged by year and docket number. Covers 2008 to present.
Texas Supreme Court Briefs [Texas Judicial Branch]
Contains briefs filed electronically in cases before the Texas Supreme Court. Arranged by date. Covers 2001 to present (with a few earlier briefs).
Wisconsin Briefs [University of Wisconsin Law Library]
Contains briefs filed in cases before the Wisconsin Supreme Court. Covers Nov. 1992 to July 2009.
Wisconsin Briefs [Wisconsin Court System]
Contains e-filed briefs for cases before the Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. Covers July 2009 to present.

------

Internet Archive - Briefs
The Internet Archive has thousands of briefs from different jurisdictions.

Commercial Online Sources

Briefs [Lexis Advance]
Contains briefs from various federal (Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, Court of Federal Claims, District Courts, and Bankruptcy Courts) and state courts. Coverage dates vary.
Briefs [Westlaw]
Combines brief collections from various courts including federal (Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, and the Tax Court) and state courts. Coverage dates vary.
Federal & State Court Dockets [Bloomberg Law]
Coverage varies by source.