Books
Tribal Criminal Law and Procedure by Call Number: Classified Stacks (KIE3305.G37 2015)Publication Date: 2d ed. 2015
Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies by Publication Date: 3d ed. 2015
- Tribal Court Handbook (2006)Practice guides for New Mexico tribes, by Tribal Law Journal staff. Check the journal site for updates to individual chapters.
Restatement Project
The American Law Institute is developing a Restatement on the law of American Indians.
This Restatement will cement the foundational principles of American Indian law. Topics include federal/tribal relations, state/tribal relations, tribal jurisdiction and authority, and Indian Country business law.
The Restatement covers the following in its six chapters: Chapter 1 Federal–Tribal Relations; Chapter 2 Tribal Authority; Chapter 3 State–Tribal Relations; Chapter 4 Tribal Economic Development; Chapter 5 Indian Country Criminal Jurisdiction; and Chapter 6 Natural Resources.
Discussion Drafts and Tentative drafts are available:
- in print in the Reference Area (KF395 .R43)
- on HeinOnline
- on Westlaw
Journal Articles
HeinOnline's American Indian Law Collection (UW restricted) includes hundreds of law journal articles, curated by the editors to be about Indian law.
For more law journal articles, seach full-text databases in Lexis Advance, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, or HeinOnline. Note that HeinOnline has much greater historical coverage. Bloomberg Law's coverage is briefer than Westlaw's or Lexis's.
For articles from history, sociology, economics, anthropology, or any other discipline that touches on Indian law, use UW Libraries Articles & Research Databases. To find relevant databases, start with UW Libraries Research Guides.
Specialized Journals
Any law review can have an article about Indian or tribal law. The following journals specialize in the area.
- American Indian Law JournalSeattle U. 2012-.
- American Indian Law ReviewU. Oklahoma. 1973-.
- Tribal Law JournalU. New Mexico. 1998-.
- Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture & Resistance (UCLA)Vol. 1 (2004) and vol. 2 (2005) on HeinOnline.
Vol. 3 (2016) and vol. 4 (2017) on journal's website.
Indigenous Governance Database
- Indigenous Governance Database
Developed by Native Nations Institute, Univ. of Arizona. Registration required (free).
Searchable database of videos, audio recordings, papers.
Includes Constitutions Resource Center (CRC), with "research on Indigenous constitutions, examples of tribal constitutional reform, and videos of Native leaders and other governance experts discussing constitutional change."