Sustainable International Development

Use library catalogs to find books and—since they're often included in catalog records—book chapters.

In the UW catalog, you can decide how much to search:

• Gallagher Law Library—books (and other materials) in the Law Library's collection, plus e-books available through the University Libraries.
• UW Libraries—books (and other materials) in all of the University of Washington's libraries, including the law library, plus electronic resources the UW Libraries subscribe to.
• UW Libraries + Summit—all of the above, plus books from the 40 college and university libraries included in Summit (most 4-year institutions in Washington, Oregon, and Idaho).

For an even bigger universe, search WorldCat, a catalog with the holdings of thousands of libraries around the United States and abroad. The FirstSearch interface allows for more refined searching within WorldCat.

UW Law faculty, students, and staff can borrow from any UW library and from Summit directly. If you find books that are only available elsewhere, request them through the Law Library's Interlibrary Loan. (Users associated with any other UW School or College go through the University Libraries Interlibrary Loan.)

The UW Libraries catalog gives you several options for searching. The broadest option, "Articles, Books + More," searches about 20 indexes, as well as library catalogs. With one search you can find books in the law library, books in other campus libraries, dissertations, and articles from many journals.

For example, searching for irs surveillance privacy turned up (in the first screen) articles from a law journal, a computer trade journal, a business magazine, and a newspaper.

Searching indexes as part of a catalog search can be a good, quick way to get a sense of the range of material on your topic.

But it is not as focused as searching an index directly. That is, if you know that you want sociology articles, you have more options using Sociological Abstracts than you do having Sociological Abstracts as one of many indexes searched through the catalog interface.

Searching the Law Library catalog is a way to focus on books that have a strong legal component. Going to a broader search—either all UW Libraries or UW Libraries plus Summit—includes political science, history, sociology, medicine, and all the other subjects collected by libraries. You'll also have more to sift through.

Take advantage of the footnotes and bibliographies in sources you find. Dissertations and books often provide great surveys of the fields they cover. Oxford Bibliographies is a collection of annotated bibliographies (prepared by leading experts) on a wide variety of areas.

Ebooks are included in the library catalog. Often your catalog searches will even find chapters within books (if the contents are in the catalog record).

In addition, you can search collections of ebooks on separate platforms, Elgaronline and Oxford Handbooks Online.

Titles include:

Encyclopedia of Law and Development (Koen de Feyter et al. eds., 2021) (Elgar)

Handbook of Sustainable Development (Giles Atkinson et al. eds., 2014) (Elgar)

Handbook on the Rule of Law (Christopher May & Adam Winchester eds., 2018) (Elgar)

International Handbook on Migration and Economic Development (Robert E.B. Lucas ed., 2014) (Elgar)

The Oxford Handbook of Food, Politics, and Society (Ronald J. Herring ed., 2014) (Oxford)

The Oxford Handbook of Global Justice (Thom Brooks ed., 2020) (Oxford)

The Oxford Handbook of Global Legal Pluralism (Paul Schiff Berman ed., 2020) (Oxford)

The Oxford Handbook of Kenyan Politics (Nic Cheeseman et al. eds., 2020) (Oxford)

The Oxford Handbook of the Politics of Development (Carol Lancaster & Nicolas van de Walle eds., 2016) (Oxford)

Research Handbook on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights as Human Rights (Jackie Dugard et al. eds., 2020) (Elgar)

Research Handbook on Human Rights and Investment (Yannick Radi ed., 2018) (Elgar)

We also subscribe to Elgar Advanced Introductions: Law. These short books are not included in the Elgaronline platform.

Titles include:

Michael L. Trebilcock & Mariana Mota Prado, Advanced Introduction to Law and Development (2014)

Dinah L. Shelton, Advanced Introduction to International Human Rights Law (2014)

Jaakko Husa, Advanced Introduction to Law and Globalisation (2018)

There are more, on comparative constitutional law, international trade, human rights, and other topics related to SID.