Free Resources - Law & Policy
- ABA Coronavirus (COVID-19) Task Force
Extensive directory of links:- Practice Tools & Remote Work
- Court Access & Rules Changes
- Federal Administrative Agencies
- Legal Needs
- July 2020 Bar Exam Changes
- Public Benefits
- Pro Bono Mobilization
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) Legal Media/News
- State and Local Government Action
- Cheetah COVID-19 State & Federal Compare Smart Chart™ (Wolters Kluwer)
"federal and state laws, regulations, executive orders, and more; organized topically across Banking & Finance, Labor & Employment/HR & Benefits, Health & Infectious Disease, Tax, Securities and others." Free. - Coronavirus (COVID-19) [Brookings Institution]
Policy analysis, op eds. - Coronavirus (COVID-19) [Kaiser Family Foundation]
Maps, data, news. US & global.
Includes State Data and Policy Actions to Address Coronavirus - Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) [RAND Corp.]
Policy studies, blog posts. - Coronavirus page [Economic Policy Institute]
"Insights to buffer the impact on workers, the economy, and beyond." - The Coronavirus Pandemic [Journalist's Resource]
Journalist's Resource presents research for journalists, from the Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy - Coronavirus [Marshall Project]
A curated collection of links related to criminal justice, prisons, and immigration. - COVID-19 (Coronavirus Disease) [Health Affairs]
Multimedia, blog posts, older journal articles on related topics. - COVID-19 and Consumer Protections [National Consumer Law Center]
In addition to this page of free resources, UW users have access to the NCLC Digital Library with a wide range of treatises on consumer law. - COVID-19 Memo Database [Stanford Law School]
Searchable index of memos and other documents posted on very large law firm and accounting firm websites. - COVID-19 Resources [Fastcase]
"Fastcase has created a COVID-19 resource hub, bringing together free legislative and government updates and COVID-19 content across leading news media sources."
- docket alerts (some free views)
- cases (free)
- employer resources from Littler
- news
- state action tracking
- COVID-19 Resources [Legal Voice]
Links re reproductive health care, gender-based violence, economic justice, racial justice, LGBTQI issues. - COVID-19 US state policy database (CUSP)Project by Julia Raifman, an assistant professor of health law and policy at Boston University. Spreadsheet tracks state policies on about 20 topics.
See Tracking coronavirus policies by state: Q and A with health policy expert Julia Raifman, Journalist's Resource (Aug. 5, 2020) - COVID-19: Policies to Protect People and Communities [Urban Institute]
Categories include: Child Care & Education; Equity & Inclusion; Fiscal & Economic Policy; Health & Health Policy; Housing Policy; Small Business & Community Development; States & Localities; Workers, Work Supports & Basic Needs - Documenting COVID-19 [Brown Institute for Media Innovation]"a repository of searchable documents related to the COVID-19 pandemic obtained through state open-records laws and the Freedom of Information Act."
- Global Coronavirus Toolkit [Practical Law]Practical Law is also available to UW users through Westlaw. The company is making this toolkit available free.
- Law in the Time of COVID-19 [Columbia Law School]
Free e-book from Columbia Law School, edited by Katharina Pistor.
Includes:- Gregory Bernstein et al., Covid-19 and Prisoners' Rights
- Susan Sturm et al., Linked Fate: Justice and the Criminal Legal System During the COVID-19 Pandemic
- Shoba Sivaprasad Wadhia, Immigration in the Time of COVID-19
- Richard Briffault, Covid-19 and the Law: Elections
- Olatunde Johnson, The New "Essential": Rethinking Social Goods in the Wake of Covid-19
- Kristen Underhill, Public Health Law Tools: A Brief Guide
- Jane Spinak, Child Welfare and Covid-19: An Unexpected Opportunity for Systemic Change
- Michel Gerrard, Emergency Exemptions from Environmental Laws
- Clarisa Long, Privacy and Pandemics
- Suzanne Goldberg, COVID-19 and LGBT Rights
- Todd Baker & Kathryn Judge, How to Help Small Businesses Survive COVID-19
- Edward R. Morrison & Andrea C. Saavedra, Bankruptcy's Role in the COVID-19 Crisis
- Matthew Jennejohn et al., COVID-19 as a Force Majeure in Corporate Transactions
- Christian Twigg-Flesner, A Comparative Perspective on Commercial Contracts and the Impact of Covid-19 -
Change of Circumstances, Force Majeure, or What? - George Bermann, Dispute Resolution in Pandemic Circumstances
- Ronald Mann, Driver for Contactless Payments
- Network for Public Health Law COVID-19 ResourcesIncludes fact sheets, guidance, webinars.
HeinOnline's COVID-19 in America
- COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law [HeinOnline}
Collection of hundreds of government reports, scholarly articles, and some other material (e.g., papers from the American Enterprise Institute).
(HeinOnline is available to all UW users.)
Legal Research Databases (Password Required)
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resource Kit [Lexis Practice Advisor]
- Antitrust
- Bankruptcy
- Capital Markets & Corporate Governance
- Civil Litigation
- Commercial Transactions
- Corporate and M&A
- Data Security & Privacy
- Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation
- Finance
- Insurance
- Labor & Employment
- Life Sciences
- Tax
- Trusts & Estates
- Related Content
- In Focus: Coronavirus [Bloomberg Law]
- news
- analysis
- executive & agency materials
- law & regulations
- tax & payroll implications
- state developments
- SEC disclosures & guidance
- labor
- health & pharma law
- litigation
- COVID-19 Legal Materials & News (Westlaw)
- federal legislation
- legislative updates
- administrative decisions & guidance
- state legislation
- state executive orders
- cases (database collecting COVID-19 cases)
- court information
- news
Timeline
Nick Schwellenbach, The First 100 Days of the U.S. Government’s COVID-19 Response, POGO (May 6, 2020). Detailed timeline, from Project on Government Oversight, a nonpartisan watchdog.