Introduction
Map: Federally Recognized Tribes of Washington State, from Governor's Office of Indian Affairs.
See also GOIA's map, Washington State Tribal Reservations and Draft Treaty Ceded Areas. Another map is available from www.washingtontribes.org, a site sponsored by the Washington Indian Gaming Association.
The list below includes sources of tribal codes and constitutions of Washington tribes. It also links to maps and tribal websites.
Note: The list has more than one link for many tribes. Pay attention to dates and sources.
Many of the constitutions and corporate charters from the 1930s are duplicated in HeinOnline and the Library of Congress. HeinOnline is a commercial database licensed for UW users. The Library of Congress site is free. Researchers may find that HeinOnline offers some advantages for searching, so both sources are listed.
Chehalis (Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation)
- Chehalis Tribal CodeCode Publishing site. Current.
- Chehelis Tribal Law [Lexis]
This link opens in a new window
Includes the Chehalis Tribal Code, Constitution, and Bylaws - Chehalis Code & Laws [HeinOnline]
This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection. Includes Constitution & Bylaws (1973), Bingo Ordinance (1986), Construction Company Charter (1980), Court Procedures (1988), Fireworks Control Ordinance, Fishing Ordinance (1986), Housing Authority Ordinance (1978), Marriage Code (1985), Youth Ordinance.
Colville (Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation)
- Colville Confederated Tribes Law & Order CodeTribe's website.
- Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation Laws [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Colville Tribal Law and Order Code, Constitution, Bylaws, and history of Constitutional amendments - Colville Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Includes Law & Order Code plus 13 ordinances (Crime Victim Compensation, Research Regulation, Forest Protection, Landlord & Tenant Relations, Colville Debt Set-off, and more).
Colville Tribal Law and Order CodePublication Date: 2005 with looseleaf updatesLibrary also has earlier editions in print.
Cowlitz Indian Tribe
Hoh Indian Tribe
- Hoh Tribe Law & Order CodeTribe's website.
- Hoh Tribal Code [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
- Hoh Code & Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Includes Constitution, Courts Procedures Ordinance, Law & Order Code, Domestic Violence Code, Civil Traffic Code, Exclusion Code, Youth Code, Fireworks Code, Fishing Ordinance, Inter-Tribal Housing Authority, Eviction Ordinance, Firearms Ordinance, Liquor Ordinance, Motor Vehicle Ordinance, Pets Ordinance, Solid Waste Ordinance, Trespass Ordinance, Sample Forms.
Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe
- Jamestown S'Klallam Tribal Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- Jamestown Klallam Constitution [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection. Includes Constitution (1983)
Kalispel Tribe
- Kalispel Law & Order Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website
- Kalispel Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Kalispel Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Kalispel Tribe Law and Order Code, Constitution, and bylaws - Constitution and By-laws of the Kalispel Indian Community of the Kalispel Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved March 24, 1938. - Corporate Charter of the Kalispel Indian Community of the Kalispel Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Ratified May 28, 1938.
Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe
- Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe Domestic Violence CodeUndated. Linked from tribe's website here. Page also links to a resolution dated June 5, 2017, approving revised domestic violence code.
- Lower Elwha Tribal Community Code & Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Includes Constitution & Bylaws (1979), Law & Order Code, Juvenile Code (1979), Revised Fishing Ordinance, Traffic Code.
Lummi Nation
- Lummi Tribe of the Lummi Reservation- Code of LawsNILL website. As of April 5, 2022, the latest update was from March 2019.
- Lummi Tribe Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection. - Lummi Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Lummi Nation Code of Laws, Constitution, and Bylaws - Lummi Tribe Code of Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Constitution and Bylaws of the Lummi Tribe of the Lummi Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved April 2, 1948.
Makah Tribe
- Makah Law & Order CodeNILL website (1999).
- Makah Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Makah Law and Order Code, Constitution, and Bylaws - Makah Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Constitution and Bylaws of the Makah Indian Tribe of the Makah Indian Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved May 16, 1936. - Corporate Charter of the Makah Indian Tribe of the Makah Indian Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Ratified February 27, 1937.
Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
- Muckleshoot Tribal CodeMuckleshoot Indian Tribe website.
- Muckleshoot Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Muckleshoot Tribal Code, Constitution, and Bylaws - Muckleshoot Tribal Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection. - Muckleshoot Tribal Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Constitution and Bylaws for the Muckleshoot Indian Tribe of the Muckleshoot Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved May 13, 1936. - Corporate Charter of the Muckleshoot Indian Tribe of the Muckleshoot Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Ratified October 31, 1936.
Nisqually Indian Tribe
- Nisqually Indian Tribe Tribal Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- The Laws of the Nisqually Indian Tribal Community [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Nisqually Tribal Code, Constitution, and Bylaws - Nisqually Indian Tribe Tribal Code [NILL]NILL website.
- Nisqually Indian Tribe Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Includes Constitution, Law & Order Code (1979). - Nisqually Tribe Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Constitution and Bylaws of the Nisqually Indian Community of the Nisqually Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved September 9, 1946.
Nooksack Indian Tribe
- Nooksack Indian Tribal Laws
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Nooksack Tribal Code, Constitution, and Bylaws - Nooksack Indian Tribe - Constitution & Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
From Johnson's 1988 collection.
Includes Constitution & Bylaws, Tribal Code (1982).
Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe
- Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe Law & Order Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Port Gamble S'klallam Tribe Law and Order Code and Constitution. - Port Gamble Klallam Community Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
From Johnson's 1988 collection.
Includes Constitution & Bylaws, Law & Order Code, Fishing Ordinance, Hunting Ordinance. - Port Gamble Klallam Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
From Johnson's 1988 collection. - Constitution and By-laws of the Port Gamble Indian Community, Washington [Library of Congress]Approved September 7, 1939.
- Constitution and By-laws of the Port Gamble Indian Community, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved September 7, 1939. - Corporate Charter of the Port Gamble Band of Clallam Indians of the Port Gamble Indian Community, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Ratified April 5, 1941.
Puyallup Tribe of Indians
- Laws of the Puyallup Tribe of Indians [Code Publishing]Code Publishing site. Current.
- Puyallup Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Puyallup Tribal Code, Constitution, and Bylaws - Puyallup Tribe Codes [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection.
Law & Order Code, Fisheries Management Code, Fireworks Code, Business Code. - Constitution and Bylaws of the Puyallup Tribe of the Puyallup Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved, May 13, 1936.
Quinault Indian Nation
- Quinault Indian Nation Constitution [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Constitution adopted 1975, amended 1986. - Quinault Tribal Code of Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection.
Samish Indian Nation
- Samish Indian Nation Codes [tribe's site]Tribe and Code Publishing.
- Samish Indian National Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Samish Indian Nation Code, Constitution, and Administrative Code
Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe
- Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe Documents and Forms [tribe's website]Tribe's website. Includes variety of code sections and ordinances.
- Laws of the Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Sauk-Suiattle Tribal Code, Constitution, and Bylaws
- Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe Law and Order CodeCall Number: Classified Stacks (KF8228.S228 A5)Publication Date: 2005
Shoalwater Bay Tribe
- Shoalwater Bay Tribe Tribal Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- Shoalwater Bay Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Shoalwater Bay Indian Tribe Code of Laws and Constitution - Shoalwater Bay Tribe Constitution & Code of Laws [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Skokomish Indian Tribe
- Skokomish Tribe Codes & Ordinances [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- Skokomish Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Skokomish Indian Tribe Code and Constitution - Skokomish Tribe Constitution & Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Constitution (1938; amended 1966, 1972) & Code. - Constitution and By-laws of the Skokomish Indian Tribe of the Skokomish Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved May 3, 1938. - Corporate Charter of the Skokomish Indian Tribe of the Skokomish Indian Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Ratified July 22, 1939.
- Skokomish Tribal CodeCall Number: Classified Stacks (KF8228.S64 A5 2003)Publication Date: 2003Print.
Snoqualmie Tribe
- Snoqualmie Tribal Codes [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- The Laws of the Snoqualmie Indian Tribe [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Snoqualmie Tribal Code and Constitution
Spokane Tribe of Indians
- Spokane Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokane Tribe of Indians Tribal Code and Constitution - Spokane Tribe Constitution & Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection. - Spokane Tribe Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Constitution and Bylaws of the Spokane Tribe of the Spokane Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved June 27, 1951.
Squaxin Island Tribe
- Squaxin Island Tribal Code [Municode]Municode site.
- Squaxin Island Tribal Code Table of Contents NILL]NILL website.
Updated Feb. 2014.
Stillaguamish Tribe of Indians
- Revised Law and Order Code of the Stillaguamish Tribe [tribe's website]Includes link to tribe's Revised Law and Order Code
- Stillaguamish Tribal Law [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Stillaguamish Tribal Code and Court Rules
Suquamish Tribe
- Suquamish Tribal Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- The Laws of the Suquamish Indian Tribe [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Suquamish Tribal Code and Constitution and Bylaws - Suquamish Tribe, Port Madison Reservation, Tribal Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection.
Swinomish Indian Tribal Community
- Swinomish Indian Tribal Community Tribal Code [tribe's website]Tribe's website.
- Swinomish Tribal Code [NILL]NILL's website.
- The Laws of the Swinomish Tribal Community [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Swinomish Tribal Code, Constitution, Bylaws, and Local Court Rules - Swinomish Law & Order Code (1938) [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection. - Constitution and by-laws for the Swinomish Indians of the Swinomish Reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved January 27, 1936. - Constitution and by-laws for the Swinomish Indians of the Swinomish Reservation, Washington, [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved January 27, 1936
Tulalip Tribes
- Tulalip Tribal Codes [Code Publishing]Code Publishing site. Current.
- The Laws of the Tulalip Indian Tribe [Lexis]
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Tulalip Tribal Code, Constitution, Bylaws, and Court Rules - Tulalip Tribes Constitution & Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection. - Constitution and By-laws for the Tulalip Tribes, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Approved January 24, 1936. - • Corporate charter of the Tulalip tribes of the Tulalip reservation, Washington [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
Ratified October 3, 1936.
Upper Skagit Tribe
- Upper Skagit Indian Tribe Tribal Code Table of Contents [NILL]NILL website. 1983.
- Upper Skagit Indian Tribe Constitution & Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1988 collection.
Yakama Nation (Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation)
- Yakima Indian Nation Law & Order Code [HeinOnline]
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline, from Johnson's 1981 collection.