About
The following list identifies some -- but not all -- of the specialized legal dictionaries in the Gallagher Law Library and available on commercial online services.
Business Law
- A Handbook of Business Law TermsPublication Date: 1999
- Book of Jargon Series [Latham & Watkins]"Intended for legal, financial and business executives across the globe," this site has separate pages for slang and terminology on:
* Blockchain, crypto, and web3
* eDiscovery
* Emerging companies
* Environmental, social and governance
* European capital markets and bank finance
* Global mergers and acquisitions
* Healthcare and life sciences
* Hedge funds
* International arbitration
* Master limited partnerships
* Oil and gas
* Patent Trial & Appeal Board proceedings
* Project finance
* Real estate and real estate investment trusts (REITs)
* Restructuring and special situations
* U.S. corporate and bank finance
Health & Medicine
- Attorney's Dictionary of Medicine [Lexis Advance]Contains more than 57,000 definitions of medical terms and more than "700 illustrations of anatomical features, body movements, medical equipment and injuries." Updated annually.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 25th ed. by Publication Date: 1990
Attorney's Illustrated Medical DictionaryPublication Date: 2002 with annual supplements
Intellectual Property
- Attorney's Dictionary of Patent Claims [Lexis Advance]Contains terms of patent arts, "culled from thousands of claims accepted by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office." Updated annually.
A Dictionary of Intellectual Property Law by Publication Date: 2011
- Intellectual Property Law Dictionary [Lexis Advance]Contains U.S. and international terms and concepts. Organized by type of IP law: copyright, patents, trademarks, and trade dress.
- Glossary [U.S. Patent and Trademark Office]
Contains acronyms and definitions with links to other content on the USPTO website.
Modern Patent Law Precedent: Dictionary of Key Terms and Concepts, 5th ed. by Publication Date: 2003
International Law
Dictionary of International and Comparative Law, 3d ed. by Publication Date: 2003
Dictionary of International Trade, 5th ed. by Publication Date: 2002
International Law: A Dictionary by Publication Date: 2005
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 3d ed. by Publication Date: 2009
- Beck's Law Dictionary: A Compendium of International Law Terms and PhrasesA short list of Latin phrases.
Law & Economics
A Dictionary of Legal Theory by Publication Date: 2004
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by Publication Date: 1998
Law of the Sea
Definitions for the Law of the Sea: Terms Not Defined by the 1982 Convention by Publication Date: 2012Available online through Proquest
Tax Law
- West's Tax Law Dictionary [Westlaw]Current as of Feb. 2015. Updated annually.
West's Tax Law Dictionary, 2011 ed.Publication Date: 2011
WG & L Tax Dictionary, 2002-03 ed.Publication Date: 2002
Transportation Law
Transportation Terms and Conditions: A Reference Dictionary with Form, 2d. ed. by ISBN: 159804575XPublication Date: 2010
