Website: Library Resources for Members of the Public: Specific Legal Issues

Introduction

This page lists online resources that might help with common legal questions/issues.

University of Washington Gallagher Law Library Research Guides
A list of research guides created and maintained by the Gallagher Law Library on a number of legal subjects.
King County Law Library Research Guides
A list of guides to a number of legal topics published by the Public Law Library of King County.
Washington Courts Self Help Resources
Links to helpful materials on a number of common legal problems, from the Washington Court of Appeals and other agencies.
"Preparing for Your Day in Court"
The King County Bar Association's guide to preparing nonlawyers for the courtroom.

Landlord-Tenant Issues

Tenant's Union of Washington State
An online service focused on protecting the rights of tenants. They have a hotline, walk-in clinics, and guides to legal assistance on tenant issues.
Tenant's Union of Washington State Legal Assistance Guide
An online guide to tenant issues in Washington state.
Eviction Process [King County Law Library]
One of several excellent guides to the legal process from the King County Law Library.
Landlord Tenant [King County Law Library]
The King County Law Library's guide to the landlord-tenant relationship.
Housing Law Clinics & Resources [King County Law Library]
The King County Law Library's guide to clinics and other legal resources available to members of the public.
Washington State Attorney General - Landlord-Tenant
The Washington State Attorney General's page on landlord-tenant law in the state.
Washington State Attorney General - Residential Landlord-Tenant Resources
A detailed list of resources available to those dealing with a landlord-tenant issue from the Washington State Attorney General's office.
Landlord/Tenant Rights (Washington State Bar Association)
A brief guide on deposit requirements, eviction, housing rights, insurance, the landlord's obligations, pets, rental agreements, repairs and upkeep, settlement of disputes, termination, and withholding rent for repairs.

Small Claims Court and Alternative Dispute Resolution

Washington State Attorney General - Small Claims Court
The Washington Attorney General's guide to the small claims court and process.
Small Claims Court [King County Law Library]
A research guide to help prepare litigants for their day in Small Claims Court.
Small Claims Handbook
The King County Bar Association's guide to Small Claims Court.
Alternatives to Court
Describes the arbitration and mediation processes.
Washington State Dispute Resolution Centers [Washington Courts]
A directory, arranged by county, of dispute resolution centers that offer mediation services to settle civil disputes. Subject covered include consumer issues, employees and employers, family law issues (including divorce), and landlord-tenant.
Alternative Dispute Resolution [King County Law Library]
Guide lists print resources, links to local services.

Animal and Environmental Law

Washington Statutes [Animal Legal & Historical Center]
Provides summaries and citations (with links to full text) of laws dealing with endangered species, fish and other marine animals, livestock, pets, and wildlife.
Guide to Service Animals and the Washington State Law Against Discrimination [Wash. State Human Rights Comm'n]
A 2013 guide to service animal rights in Washington, including business and landlord rights to inquiry.
Animal Law [King County Law Library]
Guide briefly discusses issues related to animal law. Washington State focus.

Business and Nonprofit Organizations

Washington Department of Licensing
Covers types of licensing, filing complaints, and checking the status of licensed business, occupations, and professions. Provides license application and renewal forms.
Corporations (Washington Secretary of State)
Covers starting, managing, and closing a business (corporations, limited liability companies or partnerships, and nonprofits), including registration forms. Includes a "Corporation Search" for identifying companies registered to do business in the state.
Washington Business Hub
Information on business taxes, closing or suspending business, getting and renewing licenses, small businesses, starting a new business, and related topics. Includes a business look-up tool.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Website of the Washington State office of the federal agency. Offers online training and information on creating a business plan and analyzing your business. Account registration is required for many services.
Small Business Guide (Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance)
Covers planning, starting, running, growing, and closing a business and payroll taxes.
Business Licensing Service (Washington State)
Covers starting a business, changing or updating business information, and renewing licenses.
Supporting Business in Seattle
Covers essential steps to starting a business, key industries, and minimum wage and labor standards.
Charities (Washington Office of the Attorney General)
Describes fundraising and registration. Offers a charity and commercial fundraiser search feature. Provides online and phone options for filing complaints.
Charities Program (Washington Secretary of State)
Provides a glossary of terms, information for donors, links to laws and regulations, and registration information for charities and commercial fundraisers.

Civil Rights

Washington State Human Rights Commission
Covers discrimination in credit, employment, housing, and public accommodations, including discrimination based on disability, gender identity or sexual orientation, and status as a veteran or whistleblower. Links to laws and regulations. Provides online complaint forms
American Civil Liberties Union of Washington State
Addresses many subjects, including criminal justice, drug policy, free speech, government surveillance, immigrant rights, LGBT issues, privacy, racial justice, religion, reproductive rights, technology, voting rights, women's rights, and youth. Includes information on cases brought by and amicus briefs filed by the organization.
Office of Civil Rights (King County)
Addresses complaints of discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations. Offers online forms for filing complaints. Much of the information is also available in Spanish.
Seattle Human Rights Commission
Links to local and federal agencies that accept discrimination complaints and regional civil rights commissions.
Seattle Office for Civil Rights
Describes types of illegal discrimination. Links to ordinances and rules. Offers an online form for filing complaints.
Rights of Transgender People in Washington State
A 32-page guide, published in 2015. Covers discrimination and harassment; health care and insurance; identity documents (birth certificates, drivers' licenses, passports, etc.); immigration; marriage; and rights in jails and prisons.

Elder and Family Law

Family law includes difficult and common topics like divorce and adoption.

Dissolution (Washington State Bar Association)
A short guide.
Washington State Family Leave Act Q&A
A 7-page handout describing features of the law and its relationship with the federal Family and Medical Leave Act.
Family Law Handbook Marriage Division (Washington Courts)
A 32-page source addressing prenuptial agreements, ending a marriage, property rights, alimony (spousal maintenance), shared parenting and parenting plans, relocation of children, child support, domestic violence, and child abuse and neglect. Written in a question-and-answer format.
King County Prosecuting Attorney's Office
Offers a number of resources and guides for family law issues, including domestic violence, divorce, child support adjustments, and others.
WashingtonLawHelp
Click on the Family Law heading for links to guides on dissolution of marriage (divorce) and do-it-yourself family law packets with forms and instructions.
Protecting Seniors [Washington Office of the Attorney General]
Covers dealing with death, fraud generally and Medicaid fraud specifically, and prescription drug prices.
Annulment [King County Law Library]
"An 'annulment' is the popular name for what Washington law officially calls a 'Declaration Concerning Validity' of marriage."

Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy [King County Law Library]
Guide lists print sources, links to websites.

Education

If you want to look at the law surrounding education, you might want to start your search with these guides.

Know Your Rights: A Guide for Public School Students in Washington
A 31-page guide, published in 2007. Covers freedom from discrimination, freedom of expression, freedom of religion, police and searches, privacy of student records, the right to a free public education, school discipline and grievance procedures, sexual health and education, and student clubs.
Student Rights and Responsibilities in the Digital Age: A Guide for Public School Students in Washington State [American Civil Liberties Union of Washington State]
A 36-page document, published in 2012. Covers recording people at school, searches (including cell phones, laptops, and social networks), technology and free speech, and what to do if your rights have been violated.
Parents' Guide to Public School Discipline in Washington [American Civil Liberties Union of Washington]
A 15-page guide, published in 2007. Addresses gathering information, developing a strategy, and advocating your position.
Parents' Guide to Truancy in Washington [American Civil Liberties Union of Washington]
A 32-page guide, published in 2007. Covers an overview of the law (the Becca Bill), the school's obligations, what to expect if a truancy petition is filed, fact-finding hearings, and contempt hearings.
Internet Safety Collaboration [Washington Office of the Attorney General]
Covers botnets, cyberbullying, gaming, mobile devices, social networks, and other tips and advice.

Forms

Forms and form books can help you navigate your way through the initial stages of a legal proceeding. We have forms available in the reference area, including civil litigation forms and Washington-specific forms. You may want to log on to the library's legal research terminals to access forms from several Washington Deskbooks, practice manuals published by the Washington State Bar Association.

Please remember that Research Services librarians and other library staff cannot help you complete your forms.

Washington State Courts Forms Guide
A list of forms available through the Washington State Law Library, both online and in paper form.